Current Students Info

Rural Disaster Resilience Process website wins award

The Rural Disaster Resilience Planning website has received triple bronze awards this week at the Horizon Interactive Awards. RRU's Dr. Robin Cox collaborated with Associate Faculty member Dr. Laurie Pearce of Pearces Two Consulting and the Justice Institute of British Columbia to create the web-based, rural friendly disaster resilience planning tools featured on this interactive website.

The project was a multi-year, multi-million dollar research endeavor funded by Defence Research and Development Canda, Centre for Security Science. Its purpose is to strengthen the community disaster resilience and management capabilities of rural, remote, and coastal communities. 

"With the frequency and magnitude of disasters we are experiencing in the world today, we need to build a culture of disaster preparedness and resilience," says Dr. Cox, "but it is about more than just preparing for disasters. It is about building stronger communities. We need to increase our capacity to navigate sudden changes and meet the challenges of the unexpected, and if we can do that we will be building better communities whether we have a disaster or not."

The website, sponsored by the JIBC, provides open source access to an interactive web space and disaster resilience planning and assessment tools - the Rural Resilience Index, the Hazard Risk Assessment, and Hazard Resilience Assessment tools. Anyone can access the site and work with the tools either on the web or by downloading the pdfs. Check out the site at and get your community engaged.

The Horizon Awards recognize excellence in web sites, videos, online advertising, print medida and mobile applications. The Rural Disaster Resiliency Planning Community Toolkit website was one of 1,000 entries from 25 countries. The project team members that helped translate the content of the research project to the website were Ron Bowles, Dawn Ursuliak, Melanie Meyers, Diennis Yip, Mike Fabri, Alex Popov all of the JIBC, and Explora Communications.