Biographies

Posted by Rhett Reilkoff on July 9, 2012 - 2:26pm
Private - accessible only to group members

You are asked to post a short biography which outlines your education leading to this program, any related work experience you might have and any personal information you are comfortable sharing (ie: where you are from, family demographics, likes/dislikes, activities, etc).  Length should be 100-200 words.

Comments

#1

Posted by oolawuyi (not verified) on

Hey Guys, My name is Olu. I am a graduate of Seneca College in Toronto.  I graduated with a diploma in Chemical Lab Technician. I am 29 yrs old and have  an extensive experience as a Lab Technician. I am currently in Fort McMurray Alberta working at Shell Canada and I am excited to start this program in the next couple of months. I love working out and I am an avid soccer player. Looking forward to meeting you guys in september.

#2

Posted by schadburn (not verified) on

Hey Friends,

My name is Shaun, I am 25 and graduated from Selkirk College as a Forest Technician in 2007.  I have worked as a Wildland Firefighter, engineering student and as a Compliance and Enforcement Officer for the Ministry of Forests for 3 years.  I relocated to victoria 2 years ago and have been upgrading courses and working for the Capital Regional District in the Environmental Sustainability Department.  This summer I got hired with the CRD Watershed Protection Department where I complete inventories of the Wetlands, monitor for Bullfrogs and Canada geese as well as complete security and wildfire patrols in the watershed.  As for free time, its usually spent fishing the ocean, lakes, rivers and streams of Vancouver Island and photographing plants and animals when there isn't a fish on my line :)  

Scared !!! but excited and looking forward to the program.  see everyone soon !

#3

Posted by lmartini (not verified) on

Hey,

My name is Lindsey, I am 21 and just graduated from Selkirk College with a diploma in Integrated Environmental Planning. I'm currently working at Zellstoff Celgar (the local pulp mill) as an Environmental Co-op. I am born and raised in the Kootenays, but I'm really looking forward to spending time on the coast!

See you soon.

#4

Posted by hlane on

Hi everyone.

My name is Holly, I am 28 years old, and have recently moved from rural Ontario to Victoria to attend Royal Roads. I was employed as an Advanced Care Paramedic for 5 years, however a shoulder injury ended my career 2 years ago. Since then, I have been taking classes at the University of Guelph in the BSc. Natural Resources Management program. I have 3 years of education in paramedicine, as well as 2.5 years at the University of Guelph. My husband and I visited BC and Alberta 2 years ago on vacation and we absolutely loved it. I am very excited to live here for the next year but am also a little nervous about the intensity of this program.

See you all soon. 

#5

Posted by jjohnstonhill (not verified) on

Hey everyone!

I'm jesse, 25 year old Saltpsring Islander, I've done a Diploma at Camosun in Victoria though unrelated to this intimidating program we are about to begin.  It was in Exercise and Wellness - initially I had the intentions to become an athletic therapist, but one thing led to the next and I got out of there with the diploma and with a strong passion to work in the environmental field.  For employment I've been a Sailing instructor, a treeplanter for 5 yrs, and this year I got into Forestfire Fighting.  I too am nervous about the intesity of the course, but working through the workbook is definitely helpful and calming the nerves, so I'm getting stoked to dive right in this September.  Looking forward to meeting everyone later next month.

Jesse

#6

Posted by b2miller (not verified) on

Hey I'm Brad. 25 years old and from Red Deer, Alberta. New to Victoria. I attended college for a total 5 years before coming here. The first 3 were spent studying music (guitar performance and recording arts). Then I worked for 2 years in a pro audio store and gradually became more and more interested in natural science and the environment so I went back to Red Deer College and they had a direct transfer program to Royal Roads so here I am. I'm looking forward to meeting everyone and working together over the next year. I too am kinda nervous for this program but I'm sure it will be awesome. 

#7

Posted by hmeszaros (not verified) on

Hello :)

My name is Heather and I will be moving from Saskatchewan to take this program (pretty excited/nervous!). I am 27 years old and have a diploma in Water Resources Engineering;  I was previously employed by an engineering/consulting company and did a lot of work in their transportation/surveying group. I have never been to BC before, so am looking forward to a long roadtrip to Victoria, and living on the coast. I enjoy biking, music, roller derby, and antiquing, and am really looking forward to making some new aquaintances and some intense learning as well. Take care!

 

#8

Posted by kmay (not verified) on

Hey everybody,

My name is Kalyn, I'm 23yrs old and hail from Nelson, BC. I recently graduated from Selkirk College with a diploma in Integrated Environmental Planning. This summer I was a Co-op student for the Ministry of Forests Invasive Plant Program. I enjoy hiking, biking, music, and photography. I hope to discover some amazing trails despite and this intense school work!! See you all later in September